Continuing the Examined Life

I recently graduated from CalState Northridge with my Bachelors degree in Philosophy. This is a fairly new and weird time in my life: for the first time in my life, I’m not a student. Now I’m entering the world of full-time work… or at least I’m attempting to do so. I’m not finished with my education, of course. I’m only taking a few years off to work. During that time, I’ll also be getting ready for grad school — figuring out where I want to go, preparing for the GREs, and most importantly getting a good idea of what I want to focus on in my graduate studies.

My philosophical interests have been pretty consistent: I’ve long been interested in political philosophy and ethics, although my focus has been the former. Between now and grad school, my plan is simple: I’m going to try expanding my philosophical horizons. For now, I’ll focus on reading up on ethics. I’ll make an attempt to post critical summaries of my readings on a bi-weekly basis, starting with a reflection on W.D. Ross’s “The Right and the Good”. That particular reflection will be posted by next week. After writing a review of W.D. Ross, I’ll either write a critical summary of AJ Ayer’s “Language, Truth and Logic” or Bernard Williams’s “Relativism” (it should be noted that these are excerpts from an anthology entitled Ethics). In order to challenge myself, I’ll defend one of them against potential criticisms; anyone who knows me well ought to be aware that I am a deontologist and a moral realist, so doing so will be a great exercise for me. I’m not sure what I’ll write on after that, so stay tuned for more information!

Additionally, I’m working on revising a paper on discrimination for publication in an academic journal. The main feedback I got from the reviewers was that several parts of my argument have become confusing. In the hopes of clearing it up, I’ll be writing blog post versions of each part of the paper. The idea is to write in a way that will be understandable to a general audience, thus enabling me to submit a much clearer revision this time around. I can’t guarantee a time frame for when the first section will be posted, but I’m hoping to have it up within the next few weeks. The first section will comprise of the introduction to the paper and setting up the main problem.

I know that my following on here is very small, so it’s not so much for the sake of attention or feedback that I’m doing this (although both certainly are welcome (especially the latter!)). This is more for the sake of ensuring that my philosophical skills will not only be sustained but hopefully further developed. This will also help ensure that I maintain my writing skills. Furthermore, writing for a blog will help me practice writing in a clear, easy to understand manner. With that being said, I’m looking forward to sharing my thoughts and hopefully receiving feedback from those with an interest in philosophy.

PS If anyone has a reading recommendation, please do send it my way. I’d be more than happy to read up on suggested materials and write critical summaries on them.

2 thoughts on “Continuing the Examined Life

  1. I think we have very similar blogging styles, I also wrote mine with the intention of pushing myself to continue studies after school; irregardless of viewership. I look forward to your future posts on ethics! I think the most important thing is to do it for yourself, then worry about getting feedback once you feel like pushing your word out there.

    I look forward to reading more from you! Take care

  2. Hi @collectivistduck,

    Thanks for the positive feedback! I’ve read a few of your posts, and I quite enjoyed them. I can assure you that the interest in reading further is mutual. I especially admire your ability to communicate complex ideas in a straight-forward manner for the man on the street. Hopefully I’ll be able to develop that skill during my time off from school.

    If you don’t mind my asking, what did you get your degrees in? Off the top of my head, I’d wager that at least one of your degrees was in political science. I’m guessing that you also have a (very healthy!) interest in philosophy.

Leave a Reply

